golden manhole award 2023 bridget harper2023 Golden Manhole Society Award – Bridget Harper

Golden Manhole Award Society

The Golden Manhole Society Award was established by KWEA to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to the association while working to promote wastewater collection systems understanding, operation and maintenance, training, and continuing education. The award will be presented to an individual for contributions to the advancement of state-of-the-art wastewater collection.


Induction will be decided by a minimum of three members of the selection committee. The committee will use the following criteria to select a nominee for the award.

  • Years of experience and significant participation in one or more of the following areas: operations, maintenance, design, education, training, certification, management, and planning of sewer collection systems
  • Involvement in promoting the professional recognition of the collection systems field;
  • Participation in the Kansas Water Environment Associations Collection Systems Committee (helpful, but not required); and
  • Papers or articles accepted by state, regional, or national publications.
  • Technical presentations at professional conferences.

Selection Committee

The selection committee recognizes and honors separately, both the inductees and their employers for their combined contributions, which promote increased professionalism in the collection systems field.


July 1

Past Recipients of This Prestigious Award

2023 Bridget Harper Tetra Tech
2022 Lucas Gillen TREKK Design Group
  Troy Young Johnson County Wastewater
2021 Alex Darby PEC
  Steve Williams Key Equipment
2019 Jeffrey Anderson Unified Gov't WYCOKCK
  Laura Gray Lamp Rynearson
  Nick Hoyt City of Lawrence
2018 David Hamberlin TREKK Design Group
  Kevin Swearengin Unified Gov't WYCOKCK
  Kurt Winters Unified Gov't WYCOKCK
2017 Wayne Dillard EPA Region 7
  Deron Huck CH2M
  Kirk Rowland Unified Gov't WYCOKCK
2016 Bob Brower City of Lawrence
2015 Chris Ramsey Black & Veatch
2014 Dan Ott Johnson County Wastewater
2013 Rod Hofer Professional Engineering Consultants
2012 Patrick Beane Johnson County Wastewater
  Ron Thomann TREKK Design Group, LLC
  Tim Schneller George Butler Associates, Inc.
2011 Gail Abney Mayer Specialty Services
  Randy Mather City of Olathe
2010 Tamara Lorenzen CDM
  Dave Bries City of Olathe
2009 Mark Mayer Enviro-Line Company, Inc.
  Gary Beck George Butler Associates
2008 Marc Pedrotti R.E. Pedrotti Co.
  Aaron Witt Johnson County Wastewater
2007 None  
2006 Gary Ray City of Garden City
2005 Joe Botinelly City of Wichita
  John Tillman Ray Lindsey Company
2004 Dale Howard City of Ottawa
  Fred Eisenbarth Alpha Supply Co.
  Cliff Cate Wade & Associates
  Larry Henak City of Kansas City (Retired)
2003 Bob Brower City of Lawrence
  Rusty Shadoin City of Olathe
  Charles Suchy City of Great Bend
  Rex Heape KDHE
2002 Monty Hole City of Salina
  Phil Burns Delich, Roth & Goodwillie
  Vernon Schrock Johnson County Wastewater
  Thad May George Butler Associates
  Jack Kirkpatrick Johnson County Wastewater
2001 Joe Huffman SAK Construction
  Rick Nelson CH2M Hill
  Martha Tasker Wilson & Associates
  Kevin Waldron George Butler Associates
2000 George Johnson City of Kansas City (Retired)
  Roxann Slater Alpha Supply Company
  Jim Stuit City of Lawrence
1999 Jim Current KDHE (Retired)
  Ken Almes  
  Darrel Thornbrugh Johnson County Wastewater
  Larry Nelson Ray Lindsey Company
1998 Bill Carter George Butler Associates
  Chris Burns Johnson County Wastewater
  Mark Wade Mark Wade & Associates
  Rick Sewell City of Derby
  Joe Maris Ray Lindsey Company