Quarter Century Operator Award

The Quarter Century Operator Club is an informal group composed of active or corporate members of the federation who have been engaged in wastewater treatment plant operation for at least 25 years. The club was created under the sponsorship of Frank Woodbury Jones, who served as its registrar.

Submit an Application Online


  • Must be a member of WEF and one of its member associations or a recognized operator's association.
  • Must be in operations at least 25 years before applying for membership and must have been an operator for at least 10 years during a total of at least 25 years of full-time, significant participation in some substantial aspect of water pollution control (military service excepted).

An operator is defined as a person actively involved in the hands-on, day-to-day operation, maintenance, or management in wastewater transportation of treatment works.


Nominations are accepted from KWEA members. Please submit the nomination no later than June 15. The nomination is to be mailed or emailed to the secretary-treasurer of the Kansas Water Environment Association. The nominations will be reviewed and sent on to the Water Environment Federation, prior to its deadline date of July 1, by the KWEA Secretary-Treasurer.

KWEA Secretary-Treasurer

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
City of Topeka
1115 NE Poplar St.
Topeka, KS 66616
Phone: (785) 969-3758

Past Recipients of This Prestigious Award
2021 David Firsching City of Wichita
2018 Kurt Bookout City of El Dorado
  Dustin Coles City of Topeka
  Jeff Graham City of Winfield
  Randall Harris City of Park City
  Richard Martinez City of Topeka
  Nicholas Ortiz City of Topeka
  Becky Roeckers City of Topeka
  Jeffrey Rogers City of Topeka
  Clay Warren* City of Topeka
  Tim Martin* City of Topeka
2017 Michael Bader City of Great Bend
  Michael Carter Johnson County Wastewater
  Russell Still City of Manhattan
2016 Mike Wagner City of McPherson
2014 Richard Collins* City of Topeka
  Tom Eder* City of Topeka
  Dan Florence* City of Topeka
  Kelly Haller* City of Topeka
  Warren Harris* City of Topeka
  Charles Knowles* City of Topeka
  Paul Pfannestiel* City of Topeka
  Steve Rishel* City of Topeka
  Jeff Rogers* City of Topeka
  Becky Roeckers* City of Topeka
  Rodney Simmonds* City of Topeka
  Wanda White* City of Topeka
2013 Dave Harper City of Haysville
2012 Steve Kubler City of Chanute
  Rod Philo City of Arkansas City
  Mike Gilliland City of Osage City
2011 Joe Foster City of Olathe
  Clay Randel City of Arkansas City
  Dennis Ashcraft City of Holton
  Wayne Nelson* City of Salina
  Robert Hollon City of Williamsburg
  Charlie Suchy City of Great Bend
  James Jones City of Olathe
  Robert Lilly* City of Topeka
  Nathan Miller City of Ellinwood
  Jim Strunk* City of Topeka
  Millie Reed City of Hutchinson
  Tim Kurkowski City of Olathe
  Curtis Norris Johnson County
  Donald Kirkpatrick Johnson County
  Stan Rinehart* City of Sublette
  Larry Bard City of Great Bend
  Brian Snow City of Topeka
  Carolyn Woodhead City of Lawrence
  Mark Estrada City of Garden City
2009 Rick Fischer City of Salina
2007 Marvin haid City of Topeka
  Steve Gorszczyk City of McPherson
  Duane Redenbaugh City of Hutchinson
2006 Jim Larkin  
  Carrie Milton  
2005 David Schmidt  
  Jan Straub City of Clay Center
2002 Robert Schartz  
2001 Robert Mullin City of Topeka
2000 James Tush City of Wichita
1998 Bert Dechand, Jr. City of Topeka
  Chet Darby City of Topeka
1997 Robert Elder City of Wamego
1996 Eddie Andrews  
  Don Sumner City of Topeka
1995 Sylvan Coles City of Topeka
1994 Terry Kirch City of Olathe
  Mike Younger City of Derby
  Herbert Shulz, Jr. City of Kansas City
1992 John King  
1990 Phillip Hammond City of Topeka
  Lauren Dinkel  
  Mike Degand, Jr. City of Topeka
  Harold Doerffler  
  Bruce Fortner City of Newton
1989 Don Daffron  
  Jack Kirkpatrick  
  Harold Miller  
  Ronald Brown  
  William Dailey  
1988 Calvin Bryant  
  Newton Baker, Jr.  
  George O'Neil  
1987 Doyle Webster  
  Robert Goebel  
  James Norris  
  Eugene Wards  
  John Carpenter  
  Walter Hundley  
  Max Rhodd  
  Ralph Wards  
1986 Myron Cailteaux  
  Gilbert Long  
  Harry Zielke City of Doge City
  William Goff  
  James Roberts City of Topeka
  Murl McPherson  
  Leslie Parscal  
  Gerald Brunin City of Topeka
1985 Allan Kupsch City of Kansas City
  Richard Timberlake City of Topeka
1981 John Glidewell, Jr. City of Topeka
  Don Vaughn City of Lawrence
  V.R. Lawrence  

* Denotes those inducted into Kansas Quarter Century Operator Club only.