Crystal Crucible Award

The Crystal Crucible award was established by the Lab Practices Committee of the Water Environment Federation in 2002. This award is intended to acknowledge all who contribute to the wastewater laboratory field and deserve recognition for their effort. Laboratory personnel, as well as regulators, instructors, and vendors, are eligible for the award.


The nomination criteria includes years of experience in the field, involvement in KWEA and/or the Laboratory Committee, involvement in promoting the professionalism of the field and membership in WEF.


Nominations are accepted from KWEA members. Members should submit a one-page biography of their selection and reasons why they feel the person is deserving of this prestigious award.


July 1

Past Recipients of This Prestigious Award

2023 Michelle Probasco
Karen Zimmerly
2017 Sarah Hoffman
Jay Lovett
Zac Phillips
2016 Kressa Anderson
Jan Copeland
Greg Cruse
Jason Patty
2015 April Batt
Anna Custer
Ron McClure
2014 Pat Flynn
Jerry Grant
2013 Betsy Betros
Michael Wilson
2012 Ed Carney
Anca Jucan
Terryl Pajor
2011 Sara Crumrine
Katy Gondring
Karla Pierce
2010 Manuel Carrera
Tori Koester
Michelle Wade
2009 Michael Bader
Jeff Graham
Tim Harrell
2008 Ed Kobylinski
Fred Riffel
Peggy Williams
2007 Tommy Bowman
Clayton Campbell
Heath Horyna
Cathy Rider
2006 DeWayne McAllister
Brian O'Donnell
Dale South
2005 Scott Craig
Jack McKenzie
Kein Menning
Rod Phile
Aurora Shields
Kathy Windham
Carolyn Woodhead